OPM For New Town Hall/School Admin Building To Be Announced Soon, Will Likely Be Same Firm Serving As OPM For New Senior Center

WILMINGTON, MA — Selectman Kevin Caira — the Board’s designee to the Wilmington Town Hall/School Administration Building Committee — announced that an Owners Project Manager (OPM) will be selected for the project shortly, with the firm P3: Project Planning Professionals as the Committee’s preferred choice.

“The Committee held its first meeting on Tuesday, December 15, 202 to discuss the selection of an Owner’s Project Manager (OPM),” Selectman Kevin Caira told his colleagues. “The OPM will serve as the Town’s representative throughout the study of the schematic design process. The OPM will be instrumental in hiring an architect, determining the location, estimating a construction cost for the project, and communicating with Town residents.”

Caira noted that 15 firms responded to the town’s RFQ for an Owner’s Project Manager. The Committee reviewed each proposal and created a short list of 4 firms to interview — CHA Consulting, Collieres International, P-Three, and Vertex Companies. None of the other 11 firms received at least 3 votes from the 9-person board.

After 1-hour interviews with each finalist at meetings on January 4, 2021 and January 7, 2021, the committee received reference checks. After a discussion, committee members ranked their choices, with P3 a near unanimous #1 choice, followed by CHA Consulting, Colliers, and Vertex. The Committee formally voted to approve the results.

Town Manager Jeff Hull is currently in negotiations with P-Three to become the project’s OPM. P-3 was also recently named the OPM for the new Senior Center project after a similar process was followed by the Senior Center Building Committee.

The Town Hall/School Administration Building Committee consists of the Town’s Permanent Building Committee — George Hooper, Diane Allan, Paul Melaragni, Jack Holloway, and Mike Tkachuck — plus Assistant School Superintendent Paul Ruggiero, School Committee representative Steve Bjork, Finance Committee representative John Doherty, and Selectmen representative Kevin Caira. Hooper and Melaragni are serving as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively.

Like Wilmington Apple on Facebook. Follow Wilmington Apple on Twitter. Follow Wilmington Apple on Instagram. Subscribe to Wilmington Apple’s daily email newsletter HERE. Got a comment, question, photo, press release, or news tip? Email wilmingtonapple@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s