Congressman Seth Moulton Calls For Immediate Implementation Of Infrastructure Investments

Below is a press release from Congressman Seth Moulton’s Office:

WASHINGTON, DC — Congressmen Seth Moulton (D-Mass.) and John Katko (R-N.Y.) are calling on House and Senate leadership to release billions of dollars for much-needed infrastructure improvements across the country.

Funding created by the historic Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) remains blocked by delays in the annual FY2022 Transportation, Housing and Urban Development appropriations process.

“Our nation’s infrastructure is failing, and it is essential that the IIJA is implemented efficiently and effectively,” Moulton and Katko wrote in a letter sent today to the Democratic and Republican leaders of the House and Senate. “Without immediate action by the House and Senate, our state and local partners face continued uncertainty on how and when they can leverage IIJA to advance important projects.”

The letter was signed by 55 Members of Congress and endorsed by 49 organizations representing the transportation sector, labor unions, safety and environmental advocates, and the business community.

Under the current continuing resolution, new funding for highways, public transportation, carbon reduction programs, and other critical infrastructure investments is limited to lower, previously designated funding levels.  Additionally, the Department of Transportation is blocked from implementing new programs.

The full text of the letter is below and can also be viewed here.

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leaders McCarthy, Schumer, and McConnell:

As bipartisan supporters of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), we urge the House and Senate to promptly complete work on the annual Transportation, Housing and Urban Development (T-HUD) appropriations bill for Fiscal Year (FY) 2022. The IIJA will enable historic federal funding for our nation’s crumbling infrastructure.  However, the current Continuing Resolution (CR), which extends the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act authorized spending levels, continues to impede full implementation by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT). Failure to provide timely appropriations for these investments further delays critical work in our districts and impacts the lives and livelihoods of our constituents.

The CR constrains DOT and our state departments of transportation to the obligation limitation levels set forth in the FAST Act. As a result, federal expenditures for significant portions of our highway, transit, and highway safety programs follow the FY 2021 Consolidated Appropriations Act, rather than the new levels authorized in the IIJA. For example, under IIJA, core highway program funding has increased to $58 billion and public transportation program funding to $13 billion.  However, each of these programs currently has an obligation limitation of $46 billion and $10 billion, respectively, as a result of the ongoing CR.

Additionally, the CR prevents DOT from implementing new programs created in the IIJA law under a “no New Starts” provision. This amounts to billions of dollars of infrastructure improvements that remain in limbo, including the new Carbon Reduction Program. Without further Congressional action, bipartisan, bicameral priorities approved by Congress and the Biden Administration will become casualties of these delays.

The passage of IIJA was a significant legislative feat, but delays in the FY22 appropriations process will prevent Americans from reaping the benefits of these critical investments.  Our nation’s infrastructure is failing, and it is essential that the IIJA is implemented efficiently and effectively.  Without immediate action by the House and Senate, our state and local partners face continued uncertainty on how and when they can leverage IIJA to advance important projects. We therefore urge swift passage of the FY 2022 T-HUD Appropriations bill.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.


Signatories (55): Seth Moulton, John Katko, Karen Bass, Brian Fitzpatrick, Thomas Suozzi, Don Young, Carolyn Bourdeaux, Andrew Garbarino, Madeleine Dean, Fred Upton, Salud Carbajal, Sharice Davids, Anthony Brown, Susan Wild, Debbie Dingell, Chrissy Houlahan, Joseph Morelle, Kurt Schrader, Julia Brownley, Dean Phillips, Elissa Slotkin, Shontel Brown, Ro Khanna, Mike Levin, Veronica Escobar, Jim Costa, Bill Foster, Sean Casten, Ted Lieu, Jesús García, André Carson, Josh Gottheimer, Angie Craig, Scott Peters, Brendan Boyle, Mikie Sherrill, Paul Tonko, Haley Stevens, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Rick Larsen, Nikema Williams, Jake Auchincloss, Jimmy Panetta, Mark DeSaulnier, Juan Vargas, Albio Sires, Jerrold Nadler, Dina Titus, Henry Johnson, Stephen Lynch, Kathy Manning, Ann McLane Kuster, Marilyn Strickland, Jamie Raskin, David Cicilline 

Endorsers (49): American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials; American Bus Association; American Coal Ash Association; American Concrete Pavement Association; American Concrete Pipe Association; American Concrete Pumping Association; American Council of Engineering Companies; American Foundry Society; American Highway Users Alliance; American Institute of Steel Construction; American Public Transportation Association; American Public Works Association; American Road and Transportation Builders Association; American Subcontractors Association; Associated Equipment Distributors; Associated General Contractors of America; Association of Equipment Manufacturers; Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute; Design-Build Institute of America; Finishing Contractors Association International; Government Finance Officers Associations; Governors Highway Safety Association; HNTB; Institute of Transportation Engineers; Intelligent Transportation Society of America; International City/County Management Association; Laborers International Union of North America; League of American Bicyclists; MassBike; Metropolitan Area Planning Council; National Association of Counties; National Association of County Engineers; National Conference of Firemen and Oilers; National League of Cities; National Ready Mixed Concrete Association; National Steel Bridge Alliance; National Stone, Sand, and Gravel Association; National Utility Contractors Association; Portland Cement Association; Rail Passengers Association; Safe Routes Partnership; Sierra Club; The Bus Coalition; Tire Industry Association; Titan Freight Systems; TransitMatters; Transportation for Massachusetts; U.S. Chamber of Commerce; WalkBoston

Like Wilmington Apple on Facebook. Follow Wilmington Apple on Twitter. Follow Wilmington Apple on Instagram. Subscribe to Wilmington Apple’s daily email newsletter HERE. Got a comment, question, photo, press release, or news tip? Email

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s