Building Committee For New Town Hall & School Admin Building Selects 4 Firms To Publicly Interview On January 4 & 7

WILMINGTON, MA — The Wilmington Town Hall/School Administration Building Committee held its first meeting on Tuesday, December 15, 2020.

“At the Annual Town Meeting on June 27, 2020, Wilmington voted to authorize $955,000 to complete a feasibility study and schematic design for a new Town Hall/School Admin Building,” explained Committee Chair and Public Buildings Director George Hooper. “The first item at hand is for the Building Committee to select an OPM. Mass. State Law for the construction of a project over $1.5 million is required. The OPM — which is the owner’s project manager — will serve as the town’s representative throughout the study of this schematic design process.”

“The first task of the OPM will be to hire an architect to design and determine a location to develop and estimate a construction cost for this project,” added Hooper. “The budget number will be brought before the town and voted for a Town Meeting.”

Hooper explained that the town issued an RFQ for OPM proposals and 15 firms submitted. Committee members then separately evaluated each of the proposals and created a short list of their choices to interview.

When each member announced their individual short list, four finalists clearly emerged — CHA Consulting (5 out of 8 votes), Colliers Project (6 out of 8 votes), P-Three (6 out of 8 votes), and The Vertex (6 out of 8 votes). None of the other 11 firms received more than 2 votes.

The Committee will interview two of the finalists on Monday, January 4, 2021 and the other two finalists on Thursday, January 7, 2021. Meetings will likely begin at 6pm with interviews starting at 6:30pm. Each interview will last approximately an hour. Wilmington Community Television will be recording the meetings, and possibly airing them live. Any interested resident can “attend” on Zoom.

Each committee member will submit 2-3 interview questions for consideration to Chair Hooper by December 30, 2020. Committee members will meet 30 minutes prior to the first interview to assign questions and organize the order of questions.

The Committee consists of the town’s 5-member Permanent Building Committee (George Hooper, Diane Allan, Paul Melaragni, Jack Hallaway, and Michael Tkachuk); Selectmen designee Kevin Caira; School Committee designee Steve Bjork; Finance Committee designee John Doherty; and Assistant Superintendent of Administration & Finance Paul Ruggiero.

Melarangi was unanimously elected Vice Chair of the Committee at the end of the meeting.

Like Wilmington Apple on Facebook. Follow Wilmington Apple on Twitter. Follow Wilmington Apple on Instagram. Subscribe to Wilmington Apple’s daily email newsletter HERE. Got a comment, question, photo, press release, or news tip? Email

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s