LIBRARY LINEUP: Touch A Truck On June 22; Reptile Show On June 25; Fun At Silver Lake & Yentile Farm

WILMINGTON, MA — Below is a list of FREE upcoming programs for adults, teens and kids at the Wilmington Memorial Library.

Registration begins 30 days prior to the event. Please register online using our Calendar of Events at www.wilmlibrary.org or by calling (978) 694-2099 (for Adult) or (978) 694-2098 (for Children/Teen). Please note we request registration for programs that are marked *RR. Thank you to the Friends of the Library for funding support for library programs!

Adult Events

Opportunities at Middlesex Community College*RR
Monday, June 25, 10 am

Jennifer Migliozzi, Assistant Director of Admissions at Middlesex Community College, will discuss opportunities available at Middlesex for job seekers and career changers, such as certificate programs and online degree programs, and assist those interested in the application process.

Creative Writing Skill Group *RR
Tuesday,
June 26, 7 pm
Learn and apply creative writing tips, tools, and techniques shared by published authors and other writing experts. Open to all who want to improve their creative writing skills and get their work published. Led by local writing enthusiast Barbara Alevras.

Well Read Wednesday Book Group*RR
Wednesday, June 27, 10 am

Featured Book: All the Beautiful Lies by Peter Swanson. Come and discuss Peter Swanson’s most recent book before he visits the library on June 28.

Author Talk- Peter Swanson*RR
Thursday, June 28, 7 pm
Peter Swanson is the acclaimed author of four novels: The Girl With a Clock For a Heart, The Kind Worth KillingHer Every Fear and his most recent book All the Beautiful Lies; a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder—a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith.

Kids & Teens

Big Trucks
Friday, June 22, 10-12 am
Check out fire engines, construction vehicles, police cars and more! Climb inside and ask their operators questions.  Thanks to the Town of Wilmington’s Departments of Public Works, Fire, and Police for making this event possible.  Parking is limited at the library; parking is available at the high school and Swain Green. The Bookstore Next Door will be open 10 am-1 pm that morning, so stop by for a new-to-you book after visiting the trucks!All ages

Art Adventures: Summer Mural *RR
Monday, June 25, 10 am, Ages 3-6
Monday, June 25, 3 pm, Grades 1-5
Help us create a mural inspired by our summer reading theme, Libraries Rock! The finished artwork will be hung on display in the library all summer long.

Rainforest Reptile Show *RR
Monday, June 25, 6:30 pm
Come see alligators, turtles and snakes from rainforests all over the world! Meet our herpetologists who will teach you every fact you’d ever want to know about these amazing reptiles! Ages 3+

Preschool Storytime: Beach
Tuesday, June 26, 10 am
This storytime about the beach includes books, rhymes, music and a fun craft. Parents and caregivers accompany the child and participate in the activities. Space is limited. Tickets will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis. Ages 3-5

Travel Club Musical Road Trip: Jamaica *RR
Tuesday, June 26, 3 pm
Join us as we explore Jamaica! We’ll learn about the country, play games, make crafts, and listen to reggae music! Grades 1-3

Teen Triva: Music *RR
Tuesday, June 26, 6:30 pm
Show off your smarts at pub-style trivia! Play against your friends, putting your music knowledge to the test. The winning team walks off with prizes (and bragging rights!). Snacks provided. Grades 6-12

Storytime in the Sun: Silver Lake
Wednesday, June 27, 10 am
Join us for a fun outdoor storytime at Silver Lake! In accordance with Recreation Department regulations, there is $10 beach fee per person charged to non-residents. Free admission for  Wilmington residents with ID.

Pokèmon Dodgeball *RR
Wednesday, June 27, 10 am
Join Mastermind Adventures for a dodgeball game inspired by Pokèmon Go! at Yentile Farm field. Please wear sneakers and sunscreen!  Grades 1-3

Quidditch *RR
Wednesday, June 27, 11 am
Even Muggles can play the Wizarding World’s most famous game! Mastermind Adventures presents an introductory course at Yentile Farm field. Please wear sneakers and sunscreen! Grades 4-8

 

Wilmington Memorial Library Logo

(NOTE: These weekly listings are submitted by the Wilmington Memorial Library.)

Like Wilmington Apple on Facebook. Follow Wilmington Apple on Twitter. Follow Wilmington Apple on Instagram. Subscribe to Wilmington Apple’s daily email newsletter HERE. Got a comment, question, photo, press release, or news tip? Email wilmingtonapple@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s